

UTPA celebrates second Railway Camp with USDOT and UTRGV officials





Courtesy Photo

Pictured from left are Gary Fry, assistant director of the UTCRS from Texas A&M University; Dr. Constantine Tarawneh, UTPA associate professor of mechanical engineering and UTCRS director; Dawn Tucker-Thomas, USDOT grant manager; Amy Stearns, USDOT grant manager; Kevin Womack, director of the USDOT Office of Research, Development and Technology; Dr. Havidán Rodríguez, UTPA president ad interim and provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs for UTRGV; Dr. Robert Freeman, chairman of the UTPA College of Engineering and Computer Science (COECS) Department of Mechanical Engineering; Dr. Angela Chapman, UTCRS education coordinator; Dr. Wendy Lawrence-Fowler, UTPA professor of computer science: Dr. Teresa Maldonado. UTRGV senior vice president for research, innovation and economic development; and Dr. Miguel Gonzalez, dean of UTPA's COECS and interim dean of UTRGV's COES.

Posted: Friday, August 7, 2015 11:00 am

Special to The Monitor

The University of Texas-Pan American celebrated its second year of its University Transportation Center for Railway Safety (UTCRS) camp for students with representatives from the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

The camp, which was held for five weeks throughout June and July, hosted about 1,000 students from third through 12th grades. Students learned about engineering and railway safety through hands-on projects including building robots out of LEGOS.

The camp was made possible through a grant the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) awarded UTPA. UT Pan American last year received a two-year, \$3 milliondollar grant to establish the center with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and Texas A&M University.

Pictured from left are Gary Fry, assistant director of the UTCRS from Texas A&M University; Dr. Constantine Tarawneh, UTPA associate professor of mechanical engineering and UTCRS director; Dawn Tucker-Thomas, USDOT grant manager; Amy Stearns, USDOT grant manager; Kevin Womack, director of the USDOT Office of Research, Development and Technology; Dr. Havidán Rodríguez, UTPA president ad interim and provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs for UTRGV; Dr. Robert Freeman, chairman of the UTPA College of Engineering and Computer Science (COECS) Department of Mechanical Engineering; Dr. Angela Chapman, UTCRS education coordinator; Dr. Wendy Lawrence-Fowler, UTPA professor of computer

science; Dr. Teresa Maldonado, UTRGV senior vice president for research, innovation and economic development; and Dr. Miguel Gonzalez, dean of UTPA's COECS and interim dean of UTRGV's COES.



Sign up for Monitor Newsletters

MyMonitorNews

Recommend {20	Tweet G+1 0	3	
Discuss			Print
Posted in Vida, Community on Friday, August 7, 2015 11:00 am.			

1 of 4 5/5/2016 3:57 PM